Houses in Astrology

Astrological houses are twelve segments of the celestial sphere that form the foundation of an astrological chart, known as the birth chart or natal chart. Each house represents different areas of life and experiences, providing a framework for understanding an individual’s personality, relationships, and life path. Here’s a brief description of each house:

Astrological houses

First House (Ascendant/Rising Sign)

The first house represents the self, identity, and appearance. It governs how we present ourselves to the world, our physical body, and our overall approach to life.

Second House

The second house governs finances, possessions, and values. It reflects our attitudes toward money, material resources, and self-worth.

Third House

The third house represents communication, learning, and siblings. It governs our mental processes, language skills, relationships with siblings, and short trips and local travel.

Fourth House (IC/Imum Coeli)

The fourth house symbolizes home, family, and roots. It governs our domestic environment, ancestry, and emotional foundations.

Fifth House

The fifth house represents creativity, self-expression, and romance. It governs hobbies, artistic pursuits, love affairs, and children.

Sixth House

The sixth house governs health, work, and daily routines. It reflects our habits, service to others, and attitudes toward work and wellness.

Seventh House (Descendant)

The seventh house represents partnerships, marriage, and one-on-one relationships. It governs our approach to collaboration, significant others, and legal matters.

Eighth House

The eighth house symbolizes transformation, intimacy, and shared resources. It governs death, rebirth, sexuality, and financial investments.

Ninth House

The ninth house represents higher education, philosophy, and travel. It governs our beliefs, spiritual pursuits, and long-distance journeys.

Tenth House (MC/Midheaven)

The tenth house symbolizes career, public image, and reputation. It governs our ambitions, achievements, and social status.

Eleventh House

The eleventh house represents friendships, social networks, and aspirations. It governs group activities, humanitarian causes, and long-term goals.

Twelfth House

The twelfth house symbolizes spirituality, solitude, and the subconscious mind. It governs hidden strengths, self-undoing, and past-life karma.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Stay updated with exclusive content